Shirley Jackson anthology When Things Get Dark announced

Some of the most talented writers have teamed up for When Things Get Dark, an anthology celebrating the work of Shirley Jackson, set for release this September from Titan Books.

One of the most seminal writers in modern literature, Shirley Jackson’s influence in today’s modern horror writing is undeniable and her legacy only continues to grow.

From the hit Netflix adaptation of The Haunting of Hill House to Elizabeth Moss’ portrayal of the author herself in the recent feature film Shirley, Jackson’s presence continues to permeate popular culture today. Here some of today’s most talented writers draw inspiration from the stories Jackson wrote to craft their own original, homages to her works.

Featuring Joyce Carol Oates, Josh Malerman, Carmen Maria Machado, Paul Tremblay, Richard Kadrey, Stephen Graham Jones, Elizabeth Hand, Kelly Link, Cassandra Khaw, Karen Heuler, Benjamin Percy, John Langan, Laird Barron, Jeffrey Ford, M. Rickert, Seanan McGuire, Gemma Files, and Genevieve Valentine.

A collection of new and exclusive short stories inspired by, and in tribute to, Shirley Jackson.

Shirley Jackson is a seminal writer of horror and mystery fiction, whose legacy resonates globally today. Chilling, human, poignant and strange, her stories have inspired a generation of writers and readers.

This anthology, edited by legendary horror editor Ellen Datlow, will bring together today’s leading horror writers to offer their own personal tribute to the work of Shirley Jackson.

When Things Get Dark is released on 21st September 2021 from Titan Books.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: